A most beautiful sunrise over Snowdonia greeted the officials and competitors at Anglesey for the BRSCC NW region's Winter Race Meeting.   The weather was on our side all day, with dry, crisp but cold conditions. Our colleagues from Ireland brought their Global GT Lights cars for three races, impressing all onlookers with their perfectly formed rolling starts.   Peter Drennan took a brace of wins in the first two races, despite race-long pressure from James Thompson and Conor Farrell.   Sadly Drennan retired from the final, reverse grid, race and the winner's spoils went to Thompson. The Sports, Saloons and Caterhams races brought a varied mix of open sports cars and saloons to Wales.   Doug Carter in his Radical PR6 took both victories, but he was pressurised closely in the first race by Rob Spencer in his indecently rapid Locosaki.   Particular mention should also go to Steven Darley, who was competing in his first ever race.   Forced to start from the back of the grid since he was sharing the car, he pedalled his Suburu Impreza through a crowded circuit to finish fourth overall. The first Formula Ford race had to be stopped, after a first lap indiscretion left a car bogged down in the heavy outfield conditions.   The restart featured a superb battle between the young Co Kildare driver Jake Byrne, Luciano Carvalho and Matt Round-Garrido; Byrne eventually coming out on top.   Round-Garrido took the honours in the second race ahead of Byrne and Carvalho.   Both races also featured an invitation class for Formula Vee cars; with Anglesey circuit manager Andrew Crighton taking the spoils in both events. The Reprise IT Tiedeman Trophy is an Autumn end of season mini championship for Formula Monoposto cars; the championship started at Donington in October, then visited Castle Combe, before concluding with two races at Anglesey.   The grid was boosted by several visitors from Ireland, and an eclectic mix of 21 very quick and extremely varied single seat cars took to the grid.   Neil Harrison took victory in both races in his immaculate Dallara F302, followed in each case by Neil Roddy in a matching Dallara.   However with eight different classes and the championship honours up for grabs, the racing was competitive throughout the field.   In the event Neil Harrison was crowned the Tiedeman champion, with Ewan Sergison in his Swift SC99 finishing runner up, and Terry Clark in a Formula Vauxhall Lotus car third overall.  Prior to the first Formula Ford race, with the cars on the grid and the drivers standing at the side, shoulder to shoulder with marshals and officials, a one minute's silence was held on the dot of noon in respect of our former NW Chairman for so many years.   Instrumental in the growth and development of Formula Ford racing in the NW, Tom Dooley will be sadly missed by so many in the sport, and the fact that the silence was immaculately respected on the grid and across the circuit is testament to the man. Overall, the day featured some sizeable grids of extremely varied cars, and some great racing, and the meeting was a highly appropriate season closer for the BRSCC NW region. Our heartfelt appreciation goes out to all marshals and officials who have assisted in any way to make the 2017 season the success it has been, at both Anglesey and Oulton Park circuits. Words: Andy Holley Photo: Rachel Bourne
© Website Created by Gramtext
2017 Winter Meeting